February 17, 2010

A bit more progress: as of today, I have my visa/residency permit in hand.  Okay, that’s actually more than a bit of progress – that’s huge (as those of you who had to listen to me complain about my visa problems sometime in any or all of the past 4 months well know).  For a while, I wasn’t sure if I would ever get it.  The approval did finally come through about a week before I left, but still, there’s something to be said for actually having it.  And, now I also have a copy of Integration into Slovene Society: Information for Foreigners (in Angleško).

Anton had to drive me to Logatec (south of Ljubljana) to pick up the permit, so I also had my first foray into the interior.  Although I didn’t get to see much but the view from the highway, it was interesting nonetheless.  In a distance of less than 30 miles – what I commute to work every day in Texas – it’s hard to believe it’s even the same country.  Things like architectural styles are very different, and there’s snow.  A lot of snow.  (Okay, so maybe you Ohioans with more than 2 feet of snow wouldn’t think it was that much right now…)  But, from the perspective of someone who doesn’t have to deal with it, there were some very picturesque snow-covered mountain villages along the way.  We had lunch – an Istrian pasta dish with penne, prosciutto and asparagus – in a town along the way called Divača.

My other bit of progress was that I was finally able to get a bank account now that I have my permit, so hopefully I can get paid.  That would also be good progress.

On a completely unrelated note, yesterday I asked Miha if there was any significance to the lettuce people in the Carnival procession.  He said…probably not.

One Response to “”

  1. Betty Cocklin said

    Hi Velvet, I enjoyed hearing about this lunch which sounded kinda Italian. I have been a bit distracted since Carl has been in the hospital for 10 days and will still be there for a few more. He went in with a cough and they’re removing the big toe on his left foot tomorrow.

    Sort of gives a new dimension to “head to toe” care doesn’t it?!?!

    Keep the posts coming. They’re a very important part of my vicarious life.

    Hugs – glad about the VISA. that’s WAY important.

Leave a Reply

